Canadian with little shadowing, mediocre ECs, decent numbers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kidB

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, could you please review my app and comment on my chances (in particular for schools in the north east)? Thanks.

Citizenship: Canadian
School: University of Waterloo
Major: Honors Biomedical Science

cGPA: 3.91
sGPA: 3.94
(the calculations for these aren't entirely correct, so let's just say they're 3.9s)

MCAT: 36P (BS:12 PS:14 VR:10)

ECs:
- volunteering at local hospital
- badminton club director and exec
- research (2 summer fellowships and volunteering in another lab at school)
- currently organizing the first mini-med school in town
- shadowing (only maybe 20 hours with a radiation oncologist)
- some other smaller things

That's about it. I would definitely do some more shadowing if i have the chance, but I'm studying in a smaller town and physicians aren't very open to undergrad observers. I'll try for it this summer (I am applying next cycle). What do you think of my ECs? I feel they're not enough. I don't think I have 15 good ones. Also, can I list activities that I completed the summer after I graduated from high school?

Thanks again, everyone.

Members don't see this ad.

Are you asking about your chances at US schools? And if so, why? Your numbers look good for the incredibly-competitive Canadian application process.

Would you mind editing and adding the total time frame for your activities (like how much time volunteering in the lab)?

What is a mini med school?

Are you asking about your chances at US schools? And if so, why? Your numbers look good for the incredibly-competitive Canadian application process.

Would you mind editing and adding the total time frame for your activities (like how much time volunteering in the lab)?