Carbide vs. Diamond Burs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ostracized

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all. I'm a second-year dental student. We have been taught to use carbide burs for intra-coronal preps and diamond burs for extra-coronal, but I find myself prefering diamond burs all around. Is there any reason not to use diamond burs to prepare amalgam/composite cavities, provided the dimensions of the bur were correct for the prep?

Members don't see this ad.

diamonds are much more expensive than carbide. my question would be the exact opposite though. Can we use a bur like 55L for crown prep?

The reason most people use diamonds for crown preps is that they are coarser than most carbides and they don't "chatter" as much on enamel if they are dull. There are some carbides like piranah's that are for quick reduction but by and large most dentist still use diamonds. It really is a personal preference which type you use. The only instance that I can think of where you would have to use a carbide would be removable of decay. Other than that I think it is pretty much up to you

Members don't see this ad :)
Ahh! I guess I hadn't considered cost since we don't pay for burs.

The only things I use carbides for in my practice are low speed, latch, round burs for caries excavation/pulpotomies (occasionally - most of the time it's all done via high speed) or every now and then to cut through the metal substructure of a crown.

Diamonds are a bit more expensive, sure, but to me atleast they're a far better performing bur than a carbide (in efficiency of tooth removal) which let's me do better dentistry quicker and as a result with less trauma to the tooth. When you can do what IMHO is a better job, quicker, that's worth the overall nominal increase in my offices overhead