Cardiac Perfusion

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hijinxx7

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am an engineering student that graduated last year from the University of Waterloo here in Canada. I graduated from the mechanical engineering program with a specialization in biomechanics (where I took extra courses in occupational biomechanics, anatomy, physiology, bioengineering, etc).

I have recently applied to cardiac perfusion programs as well as chiropody programs and have interviews coming up this month. The perfusion program is 14 months whereas the chiropody program is 3 years.

I would love to open up my own clinic and be self employed here in Ontario, and chiropody would allow me to do that, but I have been receiving varying responses as to the profitability of the field, which is a bit discouraging. I have heard salary ranges from 50K - 200K+, and that it takes many years to get established as a chiropodist starting out.

I feel that there would be more prestige in being a cardiac perfusionist but what discourages me is the demand that is out there for them. I would be worried that I wouldn't be able to find a full time perfusion position at a hospital afterwards.

Hospitals seem to pay perfusionists ALOT more than they pay chiropodists. I have researched ALOT about both professions but I am sort of stuck at a crossroad between what to do.

Anybody in either of these fields or have colleagues in either of these field feel free to input?

-Vince

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am in the same boat. However, I investigate a lot on "podiatrist". I go as far as interview and got accepted to all of them. Trust me, it's not worth it. The reason I say that is that salary is extrmly important to me. If you just want to be called "doctor". Then, it might be worth it.

One "sleeper" is "denturist" in Canada. You should check that one out.