Career Changers: What did you do before this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lfoster

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
A question for those of us changing careers -- What did you do before this?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a software developer

Members don't see this ad :)
High school math/science teacher.

Concert violist, youth orchestra coach.

Bored after only 2+ years. Obviously time for a career change... :D

Respiratory Therapy and System Administrator (IT)... besides other things...

Wow, really a Nuclear Reactor Operator?? I LOVE it!!!

Me: HR manager

I'm a software developer

I was a software engineer.

(That past tense feels really nice, even when I'm stressed about the biochem I should be studying.)

art historian (see quote in sig) ;)

bicycle messenger, 15 years on the road.

Cellist.
Lab Technician (Neonatal brain injury lab)
Research Associate (Spinal trauma lab)
Security and Hospitality at a 1200 seat music venue.
Swing/Salsa dance instructor.
Public High School Math/Science Teacher
Molecular Biologist
Nurse's Aide

Wow.. such a diverse group. Why did you decide to pursue a medical career? All of you seem to be leaving/have left pretty successful careers.

Attorney / Critical Care Paramedic

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a Physician Assistant

A labor and employment lawyer.

Respiratory Therapist and Registered Nurse

public relations and freelance writing (yeah, I totally did a 180). :)

ACCEPTED! Mercer University School of Medicine, Macon, Georgia Class of 2013!!!!

I was a campus minister...and worked in non-profits.

Also a 180...Airline Pilot...

bicycle messenger, 15 years on the road.

Do you read Bike Snob NYC? My husband's a cyclist, and he's gotten me hooked on that blog! I've gotta have my Snob fix every day!

:hijacked: sorry guys - back to careers. :D

Oh, and speaking of which: nontradfogie, I think you're my hero - I love the variety!!