PhD/PsyD Career Options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

labmomto1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am in my first year of clinical psychology in a Psy.D program. I am interested in either becoming a forensic psychologist, police psychologist or a civilian military psychologist. I'm posting this in hopes of getting a clearer picture of which avenue to go. What career opportunities are there in forensics? I find competency evaluations very interesting but I'm not sure if I could do that all day.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am in my first year of clinical psychology in a Psy.D program. I am interested in either becoming a forensic psychologist, police psychologist or a civilian military psychologist. I'm posting this in hopes of getting a clearer picture of which avenue to go. What career opportunities are there in forensics? I find competency evaluations very interesting but I'm not sure if I could do that all day.
Does your program offer any of these training opportunities?

Reactions: 3 users
Regardless of which path you choose (with some exceptions in civilian military), you want to make sure that you have a very strong assessment background and a background in trauma, so I would focus on that at this juncture. Beyond that, as @psych.meout mentioned, the question will be what opportunities ware available to you at your program.

Reactions: 2 users