Careers while in grad school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clawless23

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm currently a first year student in a Psy.D. program which holds classes at night and allows for students to have a full time job during their studies. I hold a bachelor's degree in psychology and was curious if anyone had any opinions about jobs that could be held. Currently, I am doing TSS full time and would like something more clinical/steady. Any advice is appreciated thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I wish I had information for you--but I'm still learning about the Psy.D process. If you don't mind me asking, which Psy.D program allows for a fulltime job during the day? That sounds wonderful. I wish you the best of luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
I do not think its wise to try to work full-time outside your program. When would you do your practica, research projects, dissertation, read, study, write papers, etc?!

Last edited:
mental health tech at a psych hospital/psych unit.

to be fair, you said "any advice is appreciated" they gave you advice. Just not what you were looking for.

I would go on indeed.com and search for part-time counselor jobs in your area. Some people will wait tables through grad school, but I think there are a few more dollars per hour that come with B.A. level counseling positions. Plus, you have the benefit of adding to your resume and CV, while not taking a job (retail, as another example) that puts you at risk for some awkward bump-ins with your clients at field placement. You could probably most easily secure something as a resident counselor at a group home, or if you have inpatient experience, you might be able to get an inpatient unit position at a local hospital (but any hospital position can be competitive if you don't know anyone).

Hope that helps.