Case Reports?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NTF

Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently on a elective rotation that has little to do with my chosen field. Last week during clinic I helped make a diagnosis of a rare condition which is benign but with an alarming presentation. The attending asked me if I wanted to write it up as a case report. I'm an M4 and the elective and case are not really related to the field I'm going into. I have very little experience with case reports. I don't imagine it'll matter much for my career. I like the idea of contributing to the body of scientific knowledge but at the same time being married with kids I try to be selective about when I devote extra time to things outside of my normal responsibilities.

How time consuming are case reports to write up? Are case reports just CV fluff?
Would it be worth my time to write it up even though it's completely unrelated to my future field of medicine?

Thanks for any responses.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends on what your aspirations are for your future career. If you are going family medicine or other primary care well outside the realm of academics, don't waste your time. However, even if it is completely unrelated to what you are going into, learning how to write case reports is useful if you are going to be a resident at a large academic institution and lowers the barriers to you doing so again in the future. Half of the resistance to writing your first case report is not knowing the basics of how to do it and how to go through the submission process. This is a good opportunity to get that out of the way.

Isn't a case report a publication (assuming it's published)? I can't imagine that wouldn't dress up your CV a bit, regardless of what field you're going into.

Members don't see this ad :)