Cell and Molecular Bio

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greniedgal

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I have a question about classes and the premed dept at my college is basically nonexistant. (I'm a postbac student finishing up my sciences at a local community college to save some cash.) Plus I'd rather have all of your opinions!!!!
Ok here's my dilemma:
I have already taken some bio courses:
bio 109 Anatomy and Phys 1, 4 credits
bio 110 Anatomy and Phys 2, 4 credits

Now...I am trying to plan my schedule for the next two semesters so I can take the April MCAT's. As of now I have:
Phys 111, 4 credits
OChem 221, 5 credits
and...
My problem lies with Bio. I am also currently registered for Bio 124 Cell and Molecular Bio. I think this class would help me with the MCAT's from what people are saying but I'm worried that although I will have had 12 credits in biological science, adcoms will think I haven't fulfilled the "general bio" prereq. Do you recommend me dropping this and taking general? (I just HATE to register for "what is a cell..") I'm thinking I should though just to cover all the basics. I've consulted the AAMC book but every med school is different and when I contact them they tell me to ask my premed dept!! *urgh*
Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure I understand your question...are you saying you should take general bio to fulfill the bio prereq instead of cell & molec bio? My school encouraged us to take genetics and cell bio for the Bio prereq, so I think you would be ok either way.....although the harder class usually looks better to adcoms.

So to sum up, many schools (such as my undergrad) don't offer a general bio class, so we take "upper level" bio classes to fulfill the prereq, and it's prefectly acceptable to adcoms.