MD Chance me pleaseeeeeee

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justdoit1234

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am no expert, but from what I understand, a 6 in VR puts you at extremely slim chances for MD. If I was you, I'd save the ~$4k on MD apps and just apply DO and run with it.

Yes, slim chances. But that verbal though.

If by chance you are URM then your chances become very decent.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, slim chances. But that verbal though.

If by chance you are URM then your chances become very decent.
Non-URM, but ESL. I'm also applying to a couple of DO schools. Is the 6 on verbal really that big of an issue?

I'm afraid that it will be lethal for MD schools...but everything else in your app looks so good that I suggest trying your state schools, Oakland-B, Western MI, NYMC, Albany, and VCU and many more DO programs, and see how the cycle shakes out. DO schools will give you more slack on the VR6.

I think it's a killer especially since you also are showing adcoms a previous 4.

@gyngyn @Goro

I'm afraid that it will be lethal for MD schools...but everything else in your app looks so good that I suggest trying your state schools, Oakland-B, Western MI, NYMC, Albany, and VCU and many more DO programs, and see how the cycle shakes out. DO schools will give you more slack on the VR6.
Thanks for the honest replies. Do you think that I would have a chance at schools like Quinnipiac, Creighton (I have a lot of community service experience), Rosland Franklin, Einstein, or UCONN (IS)? Also, do you think top-tier DO schools are a possibility?

Last edited:
Yes for the DO schools, and weak maybe for Rosy and the rest. You're below the 10th %ile for them, but someone has to be in that demographic...why not you?

But no to Einstein. I'd try Albany or NYMC instead.