Chances/Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mptrnglo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am a student at University of Memphis (and a TN resident) majoring in Chemistry and Biology with a possible minor in English. Had a rough start and right now my GPA is a 3.2 after taking Chem I and II (As), Bio I (C), Physics I and II (Cs over the summer) as well as Organic I (C-) (I'm retaking it this semester and have an A so far).

ECs

Community Service
• Volunteered at inner city schools tutoring children (2010)
• Volunteered as TCAP proctor at Memphis City Schools (2011)
• Volunteered as soccer coach for local church (2010)
• Worked and volunteered as ACT, SAT, NCIDQ proctor (2010-Present)
• Hospice volunteer for 3 years (2009-11)
• Volunteer firefighter, Fayette County (2009-2010)
• Volunteered as children’s day camp supervisor (Summer 2010)
• Lived with and took care of 87 year old man for a year (2011)

Work
• Farm hand (Summer 2011) worked 40 hours/week
• Worked 20+ hours a week at a veterinary hospital as lab tech(2011-present)
• Started and ran successful eBay business (2004-Present)
• Intern at DeltaPatchwork: product fulfillment, packaging, shipping, and customer relations (2011-Present)

Shadowing
• Shadowed hospitalist at local hospital (5 hours a week)
• Shadowed pediatric orthopedic surgeon for ten hours

Activities
• Started club soccer team at Memphis
• Peer tutoring
• Honors college

I'm working 40+ hours a week to put myself through school. Obviously my GPA has to go up and that's what I'm working on. I can get at least two great LORs from a teacher, a doctor, and a my veterinarian boss. Ideally, I would like to go to ETSU or UTHSC.
Any suggestions? Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

your ECs are really good man, I think with a decent mcat around 28 you would prob get in for sure to DO. MD may be a little out of reach unless you really nail the mcat.