DO Chances at upper tier Pathology programs? If not, where?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StormRising

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. Thanks for reading. I am a third year medical student. I am really interested in pathology. I shadowed a pathologist before med school. I was wondering what you guys think of my chances at upper tier programs (say Emory). I am a DO student. I have zero research. My boards are USMLE Step 1: 233, COMLEX Level 1 561. I know my lack of research may hold me back at these programs. If that's the case, which programs should I take a good look at?

Members don't see this ad.

I certainly wouldn't say you're a shoo-in for top tier programs but the field is so uncompetitive that with a 233 step 1 and no red flags it's definitely reasonable to aim for top tier. I would be surprised if you didn't at least get an interview.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
That's a relief. I really want to stay in a major city in the Southeast, Atlanta being my number 1 choice.

Reactions: 1 user
You’re probably fine. To most people Path residency is about as desirable as a flat tire.

I would consider trying to get some research to add to your CV and definitely get in contact with your school’s path faculty and let them know you’re interested. As they say, luck favors the prepared and if you set the stage now for good opportunities to come your way you can get a lot done before your ERAS application goes out. You have to work the connections you can make and turn them into CV material and Letters of Recommendation, just like all of us do.