Matching Academic Cardiology from mid tier Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anonymous Lurker

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a fourth year medical student (USMD) who is interested in pursuing a cardiology fellowship. I fell down my rank list and will be attending a mid tier (~T50) academic internal medicine residency program with a strong in-house fellowship program. My goal for my career is to remain in academics and conduct research while practicing (or at the very least I want to keep that option open). As such I am interested in completing a cardiology fellowship at an academic institution with a lot of research opportunities preferably, at a larger city in the south (ie Emory, UAB, UTSW, Vanderbilt, etc). My step 2 score was ~255 and I will have 1 ACC abstract and 1 cardiology manuscript prior to starting residency.

Given what I've shared, do you think that this a realistic goal, and if so, what can I do to hit the ground running? I have heard that the reputation of your residency program is the most important factor that determines where you end up doing fellowship and I'm wondering if I should be tempering my expectations in light of my match results. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
With one eye on the goal you only have one eye on the path.

Start by focusing on the basics aspects of being a good doctor. Immerse yourself, play well with others, learn from your patients, and be deliberate in improving yourself and your practice.