Chances? Black female 503/cGPA:3.51

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TRussell74

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am really looking for some advice on my chances of getting in this cycle with my stats. I am an Ohio resident and an 22 year old African-American female. Traditional applicant with a gap year.
GPA: cGPA= 3.51 sGPA= 3.13 with an upward trend. No Ds or Fs
MCAT: first attempt: 499 (125-125-124-125) second attempt 503 (126-123-127-127)
EC: Cello, choir, theatre, orchestra for 4 years
Shadowing: 30 hours with mostly primary care physicians
Volunteering: Clinical- ambassador at OSU East and University Hospitals volunteer
Community: over 100 hours as a camp counselor for inner city youth, Habitat for humanity, served lunch for elderly, miscellaneous, cleaned up local park
Research: none but worked as a lab helper for 10 months in a research lab.
Work experience: 2 years retail in high school. I worked as lab helper, campus safety officer, early reading tutor, Physics TA, and tutor during undergrad often working two jobs at a time.

This is current list, please give any input:
Case Western Reserve (I am legacy. Both parents graduated and father and aunt attended Case Medical)
University of Toledo
Ohio State Medical
University of Cincinatti
Wright State
Wayne State
Morehouse
Meharrey
University of Illinois
Loyola
Indiana University
Central Michigan
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine

DO: Ohio University

Members don't see this ad.

How many clinical volunteering hours do you have? I'm not familiar with what an ambassador does, time commitments, etc.

You may want to add more DO schools given your stats, particularly your two MCAT scores and average of 501.

The MSAR is a good resource you may want to consider investing in, as well.

Best of luck to you.

You should add more MD and DO schools to your lists. For MD schools I suggest these:
NEOMED
West Virginia
Quinnipiac