Chances for derm/psych?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hi, I could really use some help right now. I'm a 4th year medical student (T25-ish school) who recently decided not to pursue a surgical subspecialty. I was wondering whether I had a chance at dermatology or psychiatry. It's late in the cycle and I would have to complete a dermatology sub-i this month if it was a possibility for me to match, if not I'll apply for psychiatry. I would honestly be very happy in either one.

Clinical grades: P/HP/H. P in peds/IM/surgery. HP in most other clerkships. No H, resulting in bottom quartile on MSPE (but with positive comments) This would be my big red flag for dermatology. However, I worked hard to improve and have performed very well in my surgical sub-internships in my fourth year.
USMLE step 1/2: 253/263
1 first author article publication, 1 first author case report, 3 or 4 second author publications, all in surgical subspecialty unrelated to dermatology.

I think that based on my clinical grades (bottom quartile) and relatively low research publications outside of dermatology, it would be unlikely that I would match. If I had a chance, I would definitely try. Dermatology is the reason I went to medical school, I just had trouble finding research and found a surgical subspecialty research lab instead, then decided last minute after sub-i's that it wasn't for me.

I would really appreciate some advice/guidance!

Members don't see this ad.

Yours is the situation for which research years were made. I think you’re right that derm chances are low and it’s very last minute. Take a year and do derm research somewhere, rock some sub-Is and you might have a shot.

Psych would be more of a sure thing though given your scores. Derm would still carry some risk of not matching for anyone even after a research year.

Reactions: 2 users