Chances for DO/PhD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

losangeleno1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
3.93 cGPA, 3.83 sGPA 510 MCAT (128 Chem ,126 CARS, 126 BIO, 130 Psych)

2500 hours of working as a research assistant
200 hours internist volunteering
100 hours scribing
1 year research- almost ready to submit my writing for publication

Any chance?

Which program would you recommend I apply to?

Also I just realized I posted this is the Allopathic forum....my apologies. Not sure how to transfer it over to the osteopathic one though lol I'm new to this

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
May I ask why you're considering DO/PhD instead of MD/PhD?

May I ask why you're considering DO/PhD instead of MD/PhD?
MD/PhD was my goal until I got my MCAT score back....510 wont cut it for many MDs, let alone MD/PhDs
And I have no desire to retake, I gave it my best shot last time

Members don't see this ad :)
MD/PhD was my goal until I got my MCAT score back....510 wont cut it for many MDs, let alone MD/PhDs
And I have no desire to retake, I gave it my best shot last time
I would ask this question in the physician scientist forum.

I'll anticipate some of their advice though:

1) DO/PhD programs do not have guaranteed funding and training support like all MSTPs and the best MD/PhD programs. Paying for both degrees is a bad idea. Personally, I think any dual degree program that has you pay for either degree is a bad, bad idea.

2) If you are serious about MD/PhD you can study and retake. You have a 3.9, why do you think a 510 is your best effort?