Mar 15, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi-

I am a student in New Jersey.
cGPA: 3.3
sGPA: 3.2
MCAT: 504 127/124/126/127

Biomedical Engineering major (worst decision to tag this with pre-med). Leadership and volunteer experience in clinical and engineering settings. I am graduating this semester and applying to masters in biomedical science programs that are affiliated with med schools for the Spring semester. I dont know if I have time to take the GRE. Will my credentials be enough to get in? Is it a good idea to strengthen my application through this one year graduate program?

I would appreciate any and all advice!

Dr. Meliodas

2+ Year Member
Aug 24, 2017
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Probably doing a Post-bacc would be better, that way you actually improve your undergrad GPA. If you do a Masters that does nothing for your undegrad GPA and that is more important. You should also look to retake the MCAT if you have time.

USERX

Impossible is just an oppinion
5+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2012
Texas
Status
Pre-Medical
I was a biomedical engineering major as well and had my GPA drop by like .25 points after switching majors from Biology. Had issues with my MCAT but did relatively well on my GRE (I think it was 323) even though I studied for only like a day or two. Try the GRE, it is honestly nothing like the MCAT and is way easier, especially if the thing you struggle with is reading on the MCAT. Most people here would tell you to go with a Post-bacc to improve your GPA. I hate that advice because why would you go through something you don't like for 1 or 2 years. While my GPA did drop substantially, I learned so much in BMEN which I think will apply to being a physician. If you enjoyed it too, do it again. Bottom line, sign up for the GRE to take it ASAP and apply to programs you will enjoy. Med schools like personality too. If that happens to be one that will raise your GPA then great.

About the Ads

Dr. Meliodas

2+ Year Member
Aug 24, 2017
Status