Chances of Admission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CristiaanC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Quick answer:

Your old credits WILL be used to calculate your current GPA. I understand the reason for it, but it's in rather poor taste if they won't use the coursework, but they will take the GPA from said coursework.

I had college credits from 1997 which were used to factor in my GPA when I applied to pharmacy school. However, they will look more closely at your current academic record which will put you in a favorable light. If you score well on the PCAT, it will strengthen your case if you apply to schools that require the PCAT.

Good luck on the application process!

I agree with what Chemguy79 said, but also wanted to add that you have a great opportunity to address this in the essay that you submit with your application. My first round of college, I graduated with a 3.0, but my science grades, especially Chemistry, were dismal. Now that I have returned to school, I aced those classes, and I have been accepted to a pharmacy program for Fall 2012. In my essay, I spoke about my first undergraduate experience, mentioned how my work experience in another totally unrelated field (IT), would help me as a pharmacist, and let them know why and how I became interested in becoming a pharmacist.

So yes, while your older classes do factor in to your GPA, they will look at how much time has passed and see that you have changed.

Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
^See above comments^ - Good advice.