chances of getting in, currently freshman year with a C

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

americanpierg

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, my school doesnt go by a letter system but instead a number system. Currently i am in my first semester of college and my grades are 4.0 in gchem and economics, 3.5 in bio, and 2.5 in calc. Will that 2.5 totally kill me? I also plan on applying after my second year (3 year undergrad). The 2.5 is a result of receiving a 0 on a semester test. Im pretty conifdent i can pull a 4.0 for the next 3 semesters, and ive always been an excellent test taker (34 act, 1470 sat, 5 on ap bio, ap chem, and bc calc, and 4 on ap english)

Members don't see this ad.

0 on a semester test? ouch. how did that happen?

Anyway, you'll be fine. One C is not gonna ruin your chances. The fact that you have 4.0 in chem and 3.5 in bio put you in pretty good shape in terms of dental requirement courses. You don't need a 4.0 to get in a good dental school. If you have 20+ DAT scores, even with a GPA of 3.3, you have a reasonable shot at most schools assuming you have average extracurriculars and dental shadowing etc.

yea my roomate pulled all the plugs in our dormroom to put in extension cords the night before my 8am calc test, so i never made it to class...was en route to a pretty easy 4.0 in the class, instead had to get a 97 on the final to get a 2.5. The bio class i shouldve done better but the lab really screwed me over...they shoudlve made the lab its own one credit class.

Freshman year fall
Chem I
Biology I
Micro econ
Calc I

Freshman year spring
Chem II
Biology II
Macro econ
Calc II

Freshman year summer
Into to Biochemistry
English lit
Accounting
Spanish I

Sophmore year fall
Orgo I
Physiology I
Spanish II
Writing

Sophmore year spring
Orgo II
Physiology II
Psychology
College Algebra (as review for DAT)

Take DAT during summer then apply