chances of getting in/ last minute application suggestions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SMKJDI408

Reaction score
Hello! this is my second application cycle. I applied for the 2017-18 cycle fairly late (secondaries submitted in late October and early November), and I received 1 interview from West Virginia University (WVU). I was wait listed throughout the entire remainder of the application cycle.

This year I have reapplied (schools listed below) and I am taking a gap year working as a scribe in urology at MGH. I tried to apply earlier with most of my applications being completed in late August-september. I graduated with a degree in biological sciences from a private college. My final cumulative GPA was 3.665 and my science GPA was slightly higher than that at 3.7. My GPA trended upward with every year having a higher GPA than the prior year. My MCAT score was 514 with CARS being my best section. I have experience in research as both a research assistant and completing a research project during undergrad. I previously worked as an ophthalmic technician full time during one summer. I played varsity college lacrosse as well as being involved in several other leadership rolls for organizations. I completed approx. 200 hours of volunteering during college, but very little was in a medical setting.

School Apps completed:
MD:
Ohio state U, U of Toledo, Boston University, Case western U, Rosalind Franklin U, Drexel U, Temple U, Marshall U, NEOMED, Northwestern U, Rush, Thomas Jefferson U, Tufts U, U of Chicago (Pritzker), U of Cincinnati, U of North Dakota, U of Wisconsin, West Virginia U, Wright State U.

DO: Ohio University, Lake erie college (main campus in Pennsylvania), Lake erie college (Bradenton), Lincoln memorial university, Philadelphia College of osteo., Arizona college of osteo (Midwestern).