Changed my state of residence from California. Harder to go back to California?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hsk013

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello friends,

I am just a first year DO student but thought my question might be more suitable for this forum (and not med student forum). I changed my state of residence to one of the Midwest states (from California) since that's where I go to school. If I want to go back to California for rotations and residency, will I be at a disadvantage compared to California students since I'm not a Californian anymore?

I heard that residency programs (especially Californian ones) look for regional ties and think I made a mistake by cutting my ties to California... When I go back to California for the winter break, should I change my license and registration to California again? Then I would have to use my parent's apartment address though... Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

No. For those that care about "ties" to California all that matters is that you used to live here and your parents still do. It doesn't matter at all what your registered address is. Actually people will think it's weird if you are registered somewhere other than where you live.
It actually may cause you significant problems to be listed as living in California when you aren't - your new state may require your car to be registered where you live, it comes up on your taxes, may change your school tuition, etc. Be a resident where you actually live and go to school.

Reactions: 1 user
The meaning behind "regional ties" is that you have family/friends/support system that will pull you into sticking to the area. Many places look for this because they want their graduates to stay in the area after they graduate instead of flying back to henceforth from whence they came.