Changing Degree Paths

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

weeniedogs4life

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Help!
I'm currently a doc student in a health promotion department (where I got my master's a few years ago). I'm not able to do as much research or teach as I need to (my GA is in a different dept and I'm doing programming/intervention).

I've spent the year quite unhappy and now considering taking some time to reapply to programs that offer the experience I'm searching for.

I'm most interested in psychological constructs (self esteem, worth, attitudes) related to female sexual decision making/sexuality and how social constructions of gender and subsequent expectations impact these decisions. Because my interests are rooted in psychology, I think I need to return to the field, but I'm not sure if I need to take the clinical route or social psych route. Help!

Members don't see this ad.

Are you interested in doing clinical work? In most reputable clinical psych Phd programs, you will have to do clinical work and an internship, even if your goal is ultimately to go into academia.

Just based on what you posted, it sounds like social psych more than clinical to me, but I don't know much at all about that career path so take that with a grain of salt.

Members don't see this ad :)
Are you interested in doing clinical work? In most reputable clinical psych Phd programs, you will have to do clinical work and an internship, even if your goal is ultimately to go into academia.
Not particularly.

Not particularly.
Then, you probably should look for non-clinical programs, e.g. social psych. Not only are the funded clinical programs extremely difficult to gain admission to, but you'll also be expected to do extensive clinical training at the very least in the program itself and during internship. If you are disinterested in clinical work, you might be bored or frustrated with these requirements.