Changing Specialty as an attending as an IMG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nonnichowdhury

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
How can I get clincial experience for other Specialty after my completion of IM residency in the US as I don't want to practice IM anymore (Attending now) and I was an IMG in the US so I don't have clincial experience of the Specialty I seek now?

Members don't see this ad.

I would talk to my colleagues and other department staff.

How can I get clincial experience for other Specialty after my completion of IM residency in the US as I don't want to practice IM anymore (Attending now) and I was an IMG in the US so I don't have clincial experience of the Specialty I seek now?

What do you want to do into?

Members don't see this ad :)
What do you want to do into?
I want Surgical Specialty now but since I am a graduate now so I cannot do electives anymore so how can I get clinical experience in the surgical Specialty as an attending in IM?

I would talk to my colleagues and other department staff.
Would they let me have hands on experience in surgery even if I am a IM attending since I have graduated so I cannot do clerkships anymore? What should I do now?

Talk to the respective program director - you will have to redo your residency.

Yeah I know about that I can Redo the residency and I don't have a problem with that What I am confused about is I will not have the specified Specialty Clinical Experience in the US and for IMGs once you graduated from med school you cannot do clinical electives so how can I get clinical electives in my now interested Specialty? Please anything you know about please help??
Talk to the respective program director - you will have to redo your residency.