Cheaper school vs more enjoyable school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

waitingame

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright well right now I am accepted at Kentucky and am 10th on the waitlist at Ohio State. I am an Ohio resident so it would be around 75k cheaper over the four years. I believe that I will end up getting off the waitlist at some point before school starts. However I think I might have a better experience at Kentucky than at Ohio State. Also I grew up and am currently working in columbus and think it would be nice to experience a new environment for school. But obviously I do not know where I would enjoy more and the money keeps coming up and 75K is a lot of money.

Anyway I need some help deciding what is the best option. As I am not yet accepted I will need to secure a place to live pretty soon since Kentucky starts the first week of August. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

it really depends on whether or not you want to spend the extra money and what your financial situation is.... I personally would go to the school that I would have the better experience at because then I knew that I made my decision based on what I wanted rather than a money decision... but thats just me

Members don't see this ad :)
I dont have the option yet but at the same time I want to already have made the decision if the opportunity does arise.

actually i was in the same position and got into a more expensive school first...had made up my mind that even if i got accepted to the cheaper school i wasn't going to go there because i didn't like it...then got accepted to the cheaper school

i debated and debated but stuck with my original decision-to go to the school I always wanted to.

At the moment you do not have an option.