Chestnut Hill vs. William James Psy D.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

deleted1029955

I recently went on interviews to both schools and am wondering if anyone has any experience with one/both of them. I have not heard back from either one of them yet regarding my admissions decision, but I am just curious about what people have to say about the programs. Which one do you think is better and why?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I know of a couple of people who went to Chestnut Hill and they all had generally positive experiences from what I remember. However, this was mostly in the context of their neuropsych classes/training/etc.

Never heard of William James to be honest.

I have had some experience with co-workers and practica students from MSPP/William James. Some observations:
-Quality of clinical skills is highly variable, ranging from totally clueless to decent
-Quality of "academic skills" (writing abilities; basic math/stats) is highly variable and-anecdotally- probably the biggest differentiating factor between WJ students and practica students I've had from the local State U clinical Ph.D. program. I have received reports from WJ students with a level of grammar, style, punctuation, and proof reading that would have- literally- gotten them dismissed/placed on leave from my grad program.
-Quality of professional skills and attitude is even more variable, ranging from "poor skills, but working on it" to "poor skills, but that's your problem, not mine" to decent professional skills.
-Level of extreme debt from outrageous tuition, compounded by insanely high cost of living in Boston metro area (not NY or San Fran high, but pretty close) was pretty consistent across the practica students.