Chicago programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gracie97

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any opinions on the reputations of the Chicago programs? I've heard good things about all of them- are there any that are famously malignant, or happy, etc.? Thanks! Grace

Members don't see this ad.

Dr.Evil1 said:
I am interested in Chicago too...so if anyone out there has new info then please share. I did a search and found the following thread that gives a good summary of each Chicago program. Any new info would be appreciated though.

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=70869

thanks dr. evil-- that was a really helpful link. kind of sounds like you can't go wrong in chicago!

I am currently a PGY-2 EM resident at Christ in Chicago and I am new to these forums. I am very familiar with all of the EM programs in Chicago - I have lived in the area for 5.5 years (I went to medical school in the city), I rotated in the ED's at Cook County and Resurrection, I rotated at the Illinois Poison Center (run by CCH and UIC), and I interviewed at all six programs.

I concur with the information in the old thread that Dr. Evil attached to his response.

I will try to be as unbiased as possible. All six programs are excellent and very benign. It's been said so many times, but EM is not about rankings and hierarchy - it's about finding a fit. Christ simply was and is the best fit for me.