Chief Resident

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Midnight Rider

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been approached and asked to put my name in the hat for chief. I am very much on the fence whether I want to do this. I am a resident at what lists on this forums say is a top 10 program. How much does having chief on your CV benefit you in the long run. I do not see academics in my future.

Members don't see this ad.

I have been approached and asked to put my name in the hat for chief. I am very much on the fence whether I want to do this. I am a resident at what lists on this forums say is a top 10 program. How much does having chief on your CV benefit you in the long run. I do not see academics in my future.

UTSouthwestern wrote a nice review about being chief (below). I would recommend being chief since it will be looked on positively by future employers, however you will be expected to do more work than the average CA-3 resident.

Snitch. I plead the fifth.

Here is a thread from way back yonder on the subject:

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=180747

Here was one of my posts on that thread:

Chief resident:

Job description: Leader, innovator, scheduler, full time pinch hitter, administrative assistant, human juggling act, counselor, mother/father, brother/sister, bastard/bitc*, and enforcer.

Benefits: Nice ribbon on your resume. Jobs come looking for you. Almost automatic interview when they know you are chief. Automatic fellowship placement if you go that route. Faculty appointment if you so desire.