Choosing between medical schools..help deciding

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meridethgrey

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! So, I have been fortunate enough to have been accepted to both of my top schools for medical school, Albert Einstein and U-Miami. I'm having trouble deciding between the two. I feel that they are both equally comparable to each other rank wise and with the opportunities available. I am a Miami resident and find that UM would definitely be the cheaper cost-wise (cheaper tuition, live in Miami, ect..) of the two but I feel NYC has a lot to offer as well.

If anyone was in a similar situation or knows about either particular program and is willing to give some insight, please type away.

thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.

Miami because better weather, it's your home, I assume you have good support from friends and family there, and cheaper!

Plus do you want to do residency in FL or NY? Or Southeast vs Northeast? Programs often care about geographic preferences. For the big name ones like MGH or Hopkins, they probably don't care as much because they have great candidates and might care only if choosing between two otherwise equal candidates. They probably care more about Step 1 scores, AOA, etc.

Reactions: 1 users
No brainer. Miami is cheaper AND better weather. What's not to love?

Reactions: 1 users
Depends on your goals.

If you see yourself wanting to pursue an academic medical career (research, teaching residents, etc), I would say head to NYC.

Go to U-Miami if you have no idea where you see yourself. There will still be lots of opportunity there, it will be less expensive, and I assume you already have a support system there. You could still pursue an academic medical career at U-Miami, but name is everything in academics, and IMO, Albert Einstein is a bigger academic name.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)