Choosing between research labs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Halcyon32

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have the option of choosing between 2 labs and would like you guys' advice on which lab would be most beneficial for my future application. I'm a sophomore and this will be my first research experience.

Lab A:
Pros:
  • The PI has a rule that if you provide even one figure for the final report/paper, you are guaranteed to have your name on the paper and thus a publication.
  • The PI and senior undergrad who's been working in the lab both assured me that by the time I graduate there is a 100% chance that a paper will get published, but not necessarily by the time I apply for med school, so I MIGHT get a pub for my app, albeit not necessarily a 1st or 2nd author one.
Cons:
  • This PI requires us to read research articles and reviews relating to our research focus pretty frequently and also has a journal club meeting every week or two. These two aren't THAT big of a concern but I am worried that having to read those papers on top of working in the lab will make it difficult for me to focus on studying for classes as well.

Lab B:
Pros:
  • There is an Md/PhD student who is always in lab and who I will likely be spending a lot of time with while learning procedures and stuff. He was an MCAT tutor for Kaplan for a year and a half and got into several MD programs and a few MD/PhD programs. He assured me that he can help me and give me insight with the admissions process and what things I should focus on in my university to boost my app.
  • The PI for this lab can likely write me a better LOR than the PI in the other lab
  • I like the people in this lab slightly better than those in Lab A
  • There is no need to read research articles, as alleged by the MD/PhD student
Cons: