Clap on, year off ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RemyArgo

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey.
I was wondering whether or not taking a year off to possibly do an ESL gig overseas would affect competitive standing when applying for 2010. I graduated last fall and plan on retaking the MCATs this July. Is the ad board gonna see this as a negative, in terms of dedication to medicine ?
Like, to clarify, the earliest my app for the 2009 year could be finished is early july-august. Since with my current MCAT score, I'm not as competitive as I'd like to be, deciding which schools to apply for is getting to be a beech. And then theres the cost to get to the interviews. Some ESL programs I've heard of start in the fall, which'd interfere with interviews. (Although I'm aware that I could get in with a later interview, I believe that'd decrease my chances of acceptance.) So yeah.
Also, I'm guessing that med schools aren't cool with phone interviews.

Members don't see this ad.

Who knows if an ESL year will be seen as good or bad. I had some interviews see two years of AmeriCorps as a waste of time and others who thought it was a great decision. Some schools won't care, and it's up to you make your case to the rest as to why the experience was beneficial to your goals.

Your bigger problem is being absent during interviews. I think you'll likely delay your chances a year. You're going up against so many people, and it will be hard to demonstrate dedication to the process if you have to decline or delay an interview. You want the primaries and secondaries in early to get an early interview. If you delay an interview, you're only shooting yourself in the foot. It won't be impossible, but it's already hard enough as it is.

Good luck.

Thanks for the reply.