Clinical Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Engg to Doc

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am planning to apply to med school in 2003. I have NO clinical experience whatsoever till now. (My background is in engineering). So if I start getting some experience this summer, I hope to have a year's worth of clinical experience by the time I apply. Given my 'non-trad' background, will this suffice? Looks like a lot of people on this forum have considerable clinical expereince, so I was just wondering.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It should be ok :) They just wanna see some clinical experience to ensure that you know what you're getting yourself into. :)

Best of luck!

1 year is not bad. It may also help for you to look into getting your EMT certification.

Members don't see this ad :)
i think 1 year is fine... you just need some experience (especially coming from a non-medicine background) to show that you have an idea of what you're getting yourself into. best of luck!!

i was reading somewher (i'll find the link) that medschools don't really appreciate the emt certification. its awesome for those who have it, and quite useful, but i'm not sure if that is something one would want to do for medschool persay. anyone else comment to that? i'm sure you emt's know better about the subject.
-jot

Why not? Having such certification has given me the best clinical experience I could ever dream of. From the field to the ambulance to the emergency department. You communicate with patients no differently than if you were a physician. You get to see the ups and downs of patient care, and with advanced training, you get introduced to many medical terms and techniquies that will make an emergency rotation a breeze (so I have heard).