Clinical Hours: Scribe, Volunteering, Massage Therapy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

worldcitizen1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am currently in the midst of finishing my pre-reqs. I am wanting to begin my volunteer, clinic, shadowing hours and wanted your opinions.

I am a massage therapist and at our local Asante hospital there are positions for massage therapy in the hospital. Should I consider this as an option for hands on/clinical experience?

Also I am thinking about applying for a scribe position and wanted to know your opinion on that~ I know there are a couple threads on the topic already.

That said I am also beginning to apply for volunteer positions and have made a few contacts for shadowing.

In general any advice to steer the course a bit more is much appreciated.

Thank You!
B.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys,
I am currently in the midst of finishing my pre-reqs. I am wanting to begin my volunteer, clinic, shadowing hours and wanted your opinions.

I am a massage therapist and at our local Asante hospital there are positions for massage therapy in the hospital. Should I consider this as an option for hands on/clinical experience?

Also I am thinking about applying for a scribe position and wanted to know your opinion on that~ I know there are a couple threads on the topic already.

That said I am also beginning to apply for volunteer positions and have made a few contacts for shadowing.

In general any advice to steer the course a bit more is much appreciated.

Thank You!
B.
Think quality not quantity.

Volunteer where? Try to get involved in a local soup kitchen or homeless shelter, dont jumble too much clinical exposure as DO is more missiom oriented tapping into your altruistic competencies as a physician for your community.

Scribe is good but only thing is you dont get much direct patient contAct, unless you work in private practice.