Clinical Research: Is an MD necessary?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SilentNight

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi - So I am on the fence between pursuing an MD or PhD and would like your insight. I'm uncertain about an MD/PhD since I am a non-traditional student and not the brightest of the brightest.

I had previously done work in clinical research as a clinical research associate and enjoyed the patient contact and advancing scientific knowledge. I am curious as to what are the pros and cons of getting an MD vs. PhD if my career goal is clinical research whether in academia or industry? Also, not sure if this makes a difference but I would prefer a more family-orientated lifestyle (i.e. 9-5). I am particularly interested in regenerative medicine, so what do you believe are the prospects for a MD vs. PhD in this field?

I appreciate all constructive criticism.

Members don't see this ad.

I would love an answer to this question--and if an MS degree that offers clinical research opportunities is possible, as well, I would love to know.

The problem is the graduate school programs I find for clinical research tend to be for after someone completes an MD, and those are only MS degrees. I can't seem to find a PhD program that would allow someone to conduct clinical research without an MD!

I guess no one on the board can provide any advice regarding this situation?