CNA --> Pharm Tech --> CNA --> ??? Advice Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hapy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please bear with me with my story cuz it's kinda long and convoluted. I was a CNA (nurse assistant) before I became a pharm tech. I was a pharm tech for less than a year and quit because of some problems at work (I was bullied). I've been unemployed for a few months now. I'm about to start volunteering at a hospital (not in pharmacy though). I have been applying for pharm tech jobs up the butt. I even had two good interviews only to end up finding out that they need more availability from me, which I couldn't give them because of classes. I'm continuing to apply for jobs, but until I find something, I feel hopeless in terms of finding a pharmacist to write an LOR for me. It's gonna look bad to the Adcom if I had a job as a pharm tech and don't have an LOR from a pharmacist. I started thinking I should apply for a job as a CNA again even though I waved goodbye to nursing a while ago. So that's my question: Should I apply to be a CNA again or just stick it out until I find pharm tech position? Or will it look confusing to the Adcom that I went from being a CNA to a pharm tech and back to a CNA? I need a job, first of all, and I need a professional LOR. Or should I just ask my volunteer director (the one that I will be working hopefully starting this month?) for an LOR?

I'm starting to feel hopeless and depressed. Please give some advice! I was going to apply in October but the way things are looking, I don't think I can apply till much later. What to do, what to do, what to do...

Members don't see this ad.

Is there any way for you to volunteer at the pharmacy of the hospital you are about to start volunteering for?