college major advice...nursing science-->med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

simplyVy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] I'm currently a freshman in college. I've wanted to be a doctor for the longest time because I have a brother with a rare syndrome and as the oldest child, I've helped my parents a lot with his care. I entered college as a biology major and was disgruntled that everyone was a bio major. I looked around and was just dissatisfied because not all premed hopefuls will stay and get into + finish med school. I doubted my own ability to make my dream come true and really thought that I would make a better nurse than a doctor. I thought about the benefits of being a nurse and was lured about it. However, over winter break, I've realized that I will not be happy unless I work to make my dream come true but I have already applied to my school's nursing science major and have gotten in. So I had some time to try and plan my coursework up to graduation and found ways I could get the med school prereqs done in time to apply to med school when I'm done with getting my BSN. After reading here it seems that its not a good idea to stay with nursing...but my problem is I don't want to leave this major because I can't think of any I would rather be. I'm scared that if i do what i want to do i will be at a disadvantage because getting a bsn without practicing just seems bad and adcoms would count it against me. i didnt plan for my renewed ambition to pursue medicine and had every intention to go work as a RN and go back to become an NP...but now things have changed but i still want to be able to complete this program but go to med school..what should I do?.

Members don't see this ad.