College Sports?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JMDC2011

MDhopefully?
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Howdy everyone,

I am currently a sophomore at a small division 3 school, Balwin Wallace College. The school has a pretty good academic reputation. I was just wondering is that all my life, I've played football, from grade school and now here at Baldwin Wallace College. I'm doing well in football and I do enjoy the game itself, even without all the glory and praise that higher divisions have.

My main question is, I'm basically just an "ok" student-athlete, trying to balance collegiate athletics and a pre-med schedule. My grades aren't super great, GPA about a 3.1 after one year of college course work....I know I have to do whatever it takes to bring my GPA up.

My main goal here is medical school, and getting admitted. I personally am in a bind about what I should do when it comes to athletics now. BAldwin Wallace is a pretty good institution, but I feel that Ohio State offers more opportunities and is a better university for pre-med students.

Do I try to keep balancing varsity football, which i love (which consumes about 20 hours a week) and academics, hoping that I can try and improve my GPA, even though courses only get harder from here? I would only stay at BW if I was playing football. and i know athletics would be a plus to an application...

Or do I make the switch to OSU, focus on being a complete pre med student and forget about the game which i grew up loving? I just feel that if i quit, i would have to do a walk of shame back to my family and friends, knowing that i couldnt hack it. I don't know what to do, but im open for advice from anyone.

Members don't see this ad.

Howdy everyone,