1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Combined Degrees for residency

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by mikeyboy, Apr 3, 2004.

1. mikeyboy

mikeyboy Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hi, I'm currently applying to medical school and was wondering if I could get some input about combined degrees. Specifically, do they help in getting a residency? I'm considering either MPH, MBA, or MS along with the MD. Which would improve my chances at the better residencies? I know it varies a lot, but for instance would programs care if I have an MBA?

The MS that I would want to get is the bioengineering MS at UCSD. I'm really interested in cardiovascular tissue engineering, and would do some work/research in that field. Right now I'm thinking about invasive/intervential cardiology. Would that be wise to go for?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Vincristine

7+ Year Member

I am currently at a program that is mostly MD/PhD students (current M3 class has 30 MD/PhD'ers and 4 standard students), and I can tell you what they would all say: There is no way in hell you should enter a combined program if it is only to get into a better residency! Most all of them feel extra 4-5 years of life they have all given up + their youth,. passion, and self-esteem stolen away was far from worth it.

That's not to say there aren't some people who are thrilled with their decision to get combined degrees. I'll let someone else tell you about that.

4. mikeyboy

mikeyboy Senior Member
    7+ Year Member