Coming over from the dark side...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

switching teams

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's my story... I was a categorical general surgery resident until recently. I finished my PGY-2 year in June. I took Step 3 late, failed, and then lost my residency spot. (Warning to medical students: after you match, PLEASE make sure you know what the state requirements are for licensure in the state you matched. And yes, I was an idiot for not knowing this.) Anyway, after a lot of thought... and even rejecting a couple of opportunities that would have allowed me to continue my surgical career... I've decided to go into anesthesiology.

I've called up about half the programs in the nation and know that landing a spot for this year (2006-2007) is basically impossible. A decent number of programs have told me that they will better know the number of open CA-1 positions they'll have for July 2007 in September, and about 10 have told me that they actually will be accepting CA-1 applications for July 2007 starting next month. I have significant surgical research experience in the past and am hoping to do some significant anesthesiology research this year.

Any and all advice for my predicament would be appreciated. I know beggars can't be choosers, so fundamentally I'm just hoping to land a CA-1 spot for July '07. Can I actually hope to stay on the East Coast? Do I have a shot against FMGs who blew their USMLEs out of the water when applying for open CA-1 spots? Anything in particular I can do to make myself look attractive to anesthesiology programs except repenting for having chosen the wrong side of the drape from the get go? (And yes, I'm planning to take Step 3 again soon, and I'm hoping to do well on it.)

Members don't see this ad.

there's a reason why the surgical drape is called the "blood-brain barrier". :laugh: