Comlex 3

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor4Life1769

**tr0llin, ridin dirty**
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I've matched. Was wondering, I read how one may sign up for USMLE Step 3 prior to intern year in CT... is this also true of COMLEX 3? Or must we wait till intern year starts? I'm at an ACGME program for anesthesiology.

Any recommendations on when to take it? I hope to take it early so I can focus on my specialty-related studying.

Also, do residency programs give you a day off for the exam or does that cut into vacation/post-call time?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

1. I had to wait until I graduated before I could even sign up for the exam. Even then, it took a couple weeks for my school to upload the information that I had graduated and was therefore eligible.

2. I heard take it early. I couldn't afford to, though, so I'm taking it basically at the very end of my intern year.

3. Whether residency programs give you time off is up to them. Some do, some make you take vacation time for it. Some have you take it on a post-call day which I think is really really really crappy.

1. I had to wait until I graduated before I could even sign up for the exam. Even then, it took a couple weeks for my school to upload the information that I had graduated and was therefore eligible.

2. I heard take it early. I couldn't afford to, though, so I'm taking it basically at the very end of my intern year.

3. Whether residency programs give you time off is up to them. Some do, some make you take vacation time for it. Some have you take it on a post-call day which I think is really really really crappy.

Yeah, that's just plain lame.
Thanks for the reply.