community college courses limitations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

polkidon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!
I transferred from a community college to University of Wisconsin- Madison when I was a sophomore. I graduated from UW in 2011 with Econ major and received a 3.2 GPA. I have been working in the financial industry for about 2 years..

Now,I am planning on applying Dental school in 1.5~2 years because I don't have my pre-requisite courses fulfilled..yet (I only took one Chem class when I was in college)

My questions are:

1. Courses (mostly gen. ed) that I transferred from community college to UW will also be taking into the cc limitations that some dental schools set? (I asked schools but they haven't reply me yet)

Or the school will only take the pre-requisite courses that I am taking (biology, chemistry, physics) into the community college course work limitation (UCLA has 70 semester hours)?

I am confused because once I got into UW, all the courses transferred to UW and I am not sure if those courses will count toward the cc credit...:confused:

2. How do dental schools take non-traditional students like me ( I am 24 with non-medical job experience/major)?

thoughts? advice?
Thank you guys for reading!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I can't answer the non-trad applicant question, but you could ask the poster of this: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?p=13995730&posted=1#post13995730

As far as cc credits go, typically schools say whether or not they take them as electives, pre-reqs, and finally if they have a cap on the number of hours that will count. Schools seem to have differing cutoffs and flexibility when it comes to cc credits. To find out for every school you're applying to, you can either look on their websites/call them, or look in the adea school guide. If you have one or a couple schools in mind, I can look them up in my book for you.