Community College Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JosephQ

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have some questions...

I am currently a freshman in Community College and was wondering if I should take pre-med courses= bio/chem etc. I have heard many people say that Med schools look down on your application if you take them in Community College rather than a four year school. Can anyone confirm or deny this?

Also, if I wait to take the courses in a four year school like Stony Brook will I have enough time to complete all the premed courses in my junior and senior years?

And finally, will Med schools look down on me for starting my two years at Community College?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I have some questions...

I am currently a freshman in Community College and was wondering if I should take pre-med courses= bio/chem etc. I have heard many people say that Med schools look down on your application if you take them in Community College rather than a four year school. Can anyone confirm or deny this?

Also, if I wait to take the courses in a four year school like Stony Brook will I have enough time to complete all the premed courses in my junior and senior years?

And finally, will Med schools look down on me for starting my two years at Community College?

Do two years of non-premed classes/pre-reqs at your CC, transfer to a 4-year, do pre-reqs, get As, do well on the MCAT, ???, profit.

If you're a science major and you don't take any of your prereqs at your community college, then you will either 1) Not get accepted to your 4yr universtiy, or 2) you will end up spending 3 more years once you transfer since you'll be so behind with your classes.

Members don't see this ad :)