Conferences / workshops

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Logic Prevails

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 2nd year Masters student in a clinical program

I've been contemplating whether or not to attend a 4 day conference in December. Some of you may have heard of this one:

http://www.evolutionofpsychotherapy.com/

Anyway, the reason why I'm contemplating is because I'm not independently wealthy and it will cost money to stay in a hotel for those nights, not to mention registration fees.

I want to expand my knowledge of different types of therapies (we cover mostly assessment in our coursework). I plan on practicing with an MA, which means I'll be graduating in less than a year with very little knowledge of specific therapeutic techniques or practical therapy skills.

It seems this conference 'has it all.'

My question is this: how much value do you people put on conferences & workshops such as these? Is this something you would mention on your CV? How much can you really learn from a 3hr workshop on a particular subject? (i.e there are LOTS of different workshops, but each seems to run for a max of 3 hrs).

Overall, do you think these are worth the time and money?

Members don't see this ad.

I do attend workshops but not ones I would have to shell out for hotels and transportation. Workshops will give you a bit of a theoretical basis but to learn to do therapy you have to be a therapist yourself - you can only learn by doing. If you want more education than your current program is providing, why not do the PhD? I know, I know, finances......

lazure said:
Workshops will give you a bit of a theoretical basis but to learn to do therapy you have to be a therapist yourself - you can only learn by doing. If you want more education than your current program is providing, why not do the PhD? I know, I know, finances......