conflicted help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MyHobbyIsMedSch

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am having a hard time with making a career choice. Please give me your opinion. I graduated college in 2006 with a Poli Sci Major after I dropped being a Neuroscience major. I dropped the major because it killed my GPA(below 3.0). I went to a VERY hard school and had a bad science background. I know what I did now and would like to correct my mistakes. However, I do not have the same fire to be a doctor now after being in the real world. It costs so much money and I am already deep into debt for my private undergrad.
Currently, I work as a researcher for a top 10 medical school. I am doing very well at my job. It is way more of a public health study than medicine. My boss is a professor at the medical school but I could never get in here no matter how much i fixed my gpa.
Anyways, I worked at a health fair today for my job to recruit people for my study and I had so much fun. I loved talking to people about our study and meeting local health care professionals. I used to dream about being like a director of public health for my county. It is one of the largest in the country. Also, one of the guys I worked with was a 1st year at a local medical school that is not the one I work at. I started day dreaming about applying again.