confused about completing undegrad. Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anut04ka

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, here is a little info about me:

My next semester will be the last one for my undegraduate degree. I am majoring in Psychology and minoring in Chemistry. I have volunteer experience, lots of extracurricular activities such as clubs, organizations, community service, job as a personal trainer. I took an independent study in Psychology research lab. My science GPA is something like 3.2, and overall GPA is 3.67.

I am planning to take the MCAT this coming April. Therefore I want to make smart decision about the course load for the spring semester.

Yet at the same time I want to make sure to finish my undergraduate degree with enough qualifications for Med School.

I need to take 2 more psychology classes (3 credits each)to complete my major, and I have 16 creits left. If I take those 2 classes next semester I will have 10 credits left.

Thats where I am not sure about what I should do. I have few options:

1. I could take all those 16 credits next semester by taking few electives such as Language, Yoga, Religion, and then spend next year working, participating in research, volunteering and exploring life without academics. (which I would like the most), but then I'm not sure if that's too much with MCAT coming up.

2. I could take only some of those credits next semester and fulfill others by extending my undergrad to fifth year.

3. I could take 12 credits next semester and take Honors Psychology to graduate with honors either during the summer or fall semester. (Do you feel like being an Honor student will qualify me more for medschool?)

4. I could stay in school for 5th year and get double major in Psych/Biochem by taking few advanced science courses.