Confused Patho student...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PathoGeek

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to this forum, so hang in there with me. I am currently a Clinical Laboratory Tech student, going to be graduating next spring with my Asso degree. My plans were to then go and apply to continue my degree into a bacc in Medical Technologist. Then eventually go for pathology.

My question to you is, what is pathology really; Is it an MD, or PhD? From what I can tell, and from the school I am looking into, it's a MD/PhD.

Is there any other students on here looking at Pathology?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I am new to this forum, so hang in there with me. I am currently a Clinical Laboratory Tech student, going to be graduating next spring with my Asso degree. My plans were to then go and apply to continue my degree into a bacc in Medical Technologist. Then eventually go for pathology.

My question to you is, what is pathology really; Is it an MD, or PhD? From what I can tell, and from the school I am looking into, it's a MD/PhD.

To become a clinical pathologist, one must be an MD or DO. To study pathology, one can obtain a Ph.D but you won't be dealing with anything clinical and largely doing research.

Thanks for your response. I figured that much...Seeing as Clinical Pathologists work with patient samples. I figure I may do the MD/PhD program, so that I am able to do research if I would like. I'd perfer to work with patient samples however.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for your response. I figured that much...Seeing as Clinical Pathologists work with patient samples. I figure I may do the MD/PhD program, so that I am able to do research if I would like. I'd perfer to work with patient samples however.

Thanks!