Considering Medical School - First Steps?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hello, All

I am at somewhat of a crossroads in my career. I was working as a patent lawyer until I was laid off. Given the rather poor state of the legal job market combined with my general dissatisfaction with practicing law, I'm considering a career in medicine. There are many aspects of the medical school admissions process that I need to bring myself up to speed on so I know what steps to take if I choose to apply to medical school.

I have a B.S. in Electrical Engineering (2004) with a weighted average GPA from two colleges (I was a transfer student) of about 3.4. My science GPA based on my chemistry and physics courses is probably about a 3.5 or 3.6. I'm aware that I still need to take one year of biology and one year of organic chemistry.

First, can anyone recommend a good book / resources that is informative as to the admissions process and how to assemble a competitive application?

Is it too late to consider applying during the 2010 cycle? I have obviously yet to take the MCAT, and also have to take biology and organic chemistry. I have virtually no volunteer, shadow, clinical experience, etc. (My ambitions were previously directed towards a career in patent law.)

Lastly, if there is anyone with a similar background as mine who has gone through this process, I'd be especially interested in hearing about your experience.

Thanks for any advice.

- JG

Members don't see this ad.

One of the easiest things to do is to search here on SDN for the info that you are looking for. Most of it has been rehashed many times over. But the basics of what you need:

Pre-reqs (classes): General Chemistry I, General Chemistry II, Organic Chemistry I, Organic Chemistry II, Biology I, Biology II, Physics I, Physics II, and a completed Bachelor's Degree (at minimum)