Quantcast

Considering Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NathanDH

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hello, I am currently a nursing student in a Baccalaureate program. I will be graduating in May '08.
I have 8 credit hours of Anatomy and Physiology, and I am wondering if those would fulfill the Biology requirement at most medical schools.
I have not yet taken Physics, or Organic Chemistry, so I am not planning on taking the MCAT or applying anytime in the near future.
I have a fairly decent GPA, my Sciences are 4.0 and Nursing GPA is 3.5, everything else is a 4.0.
I am rather young (19) so I suppose I have a lifetime ahead of myself, however I have always been on the accelerated track of life.

Would everyone here agree that perhaps working my butt off for a year or two to earn money and take the courses I have left, as well as the MCAT, be worth my while?
Do you think I would have any chance of working on the side while in medical school?

Thanks,
Nathan

Edit - I should also point out that I am open to both DO and MD schools. I am somewhat drawn to the holistic aspect of DO, although I am very interested in surgery.

Last edited:

drizzt3117

chick magnet
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you're interested in medicine as opposed to nursing then it would be worthwhile to pursue. Certainly your academic performance to date is fine and wouldn't be a hindrance towards a career in medicine.

As far as working during med school, that will most likely be a no-go for most people. There may be some exceptions but the consensus is likely going to be that you won't have the time if you want to perform at a high level, especially if you're looking to go into a field as competitive as surgery.

soonereng

Double Trouble
10+ Year Member
Reaction score