Quantcast

Considering medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MackandBlues

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
So I'm a clinical pharmacist almost 5 years out of school. Currently I work in the emergency medicine department of a Level 1 trauma center in a major city and I love it. But I want to do more. I mostly stand on the sidelines and listen/watch the doctors do the work and then make a recommendation or not on how to best treat the patient. I want to be in there getting my hands dirty so to speak and treating the patients myself. I love learning and really want the education that doctors have.

I keep trying to tell myself that I am happier working my 40 hours per week but I can't stop thinking about medical school. I like my job but I want more. I guess I'm trying to decide if its worth 7 years of my life to change careers and become an EM physician. I would need to study and take the MCAT so its too late for this application cycle so I'd be 31 when I matriculated. Any non-trads with words of wisdom?

Only Zool

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
If that's what you want, go for it! A lot of us gave up other careers to pursue careers as physicians. Being 31, IMO, is just fine. Entering class stats for my top 3 hopefuls had people as old as 42. I do hear that adcoms are harder on people who leave other careers to go into medicine, but I can't say for sure.

ChemMed

Curiosity is Fun!
5+ Year Member
Reaction score