Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Considering podiatry

Discussion in 'Pre-Podiatry Students' started by tlacey2323, Aug 6, 2015.

1. tlacey2323

Pre-Podiatry
    I'm a prehealth undergrad thinking about several health science grad programs including dentistry, opto, PT, audiology, etc. What is the best way for me to get a feel of what life as a practicing podiatrist is like? Thanks for any help you guys give me!

2. bobtheweazel

2+ Year Member

Podiatry Student
    The BEST way would be to shadow a podiatrist in your area. That way you can see their daily routine, patient load, and see exactly what it is that a podiatrist does.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tlacey2323

Pre-Podiatry
    How do i go about asking a podiatrist to shadow them?

4. LukeCollinss

Just call and ask. You'll more than likely talk to a nurse/receptionist, and they will end up asking the doctor if you're able to shadow.

5. tlacey2323

Pre-Podiatry
    SOunds great. THanks!

6. bobtheweazel

2+ Year Member

Podiatry Student
    I went in person to a few podiatrists to try to make a good impression. I took my CV which had my work experience and GPA and whatnot. I was completely stonewalled by the front office staff of the first two, but the third podiatrist spoke to me himself and immediately agreed. He was a great mentor. I guess what I'm saying is don't be discouraged if you get turned down a few times. Some doctors just aren't down with shadowing. You'll eventually find one who is.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. bobtheweazel

2+ Year Member

Podiatry Student