Considering starting a private practice after fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Painologist

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am beginning my pain fellowship at a well regarded, highly interventional program this July and am highly considering starting a private practice afterwards. I was wondering if someone can provide me with an example business plan I can use as a guide. I am a beginner, but do have some guidance from family and friends with private businesses. I obviously want to consider all overhead, malpractice, staff, ect.

Additionally, I want to get an idea of what I can produce with x amount of procedures, consults, follow ups, ect. Does anyone know where I can look up insurance (medicare / private) reimbursements for bread and butter pain procedures as well as advanced procedures such as stimulators, MILD, kyphoplasty, vertiflex, ect. I will be setting up shop in Michigan if that helps.

Tips and tricks to begin networking with area physicians for referrals would also be appreciated. I plan to get privileges at a few area hospitals and meet with as many primary care and spine physicians I can in order to get my name out there.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
No one can answer what you will make for x number of procedures. Too many variables. I do think it’s awesome you want to start your own practice though. The thing to realize is that especially initially the number of patients and procedures to break even is quite high and you pay yourself last unfortunately.

Reactions: 1 user
ASIPP has a handy spreadsheet with national rates for most interventional procedures a d office visits. On the Medicare site you can look up specific rates for your locality.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
This website will tell you CMS' reimbursement in your area. Individual payors will be all over the place though.