Cop to MD, help me chart my path

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deputy2MD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I apologize as this will be a lengthy post, but I have a tale to tell, and hope to get some sound advice.

I am a 30 year old Police Officer from Reno, Nevada. I began college when I was 18 as a premed, did well in some classes, terrible in others (ahem, D in Ochem, but her I got an A and B+ in calc 1 and 2). When the dust settled I graduated with a BS in Economics and did one semester of an MS in Econ program before dropping out to cease putting off the real world.

I made a very mature decision when I was 23, just before I graduated, and decided I would make an awful Physician at that age. No life experience out of schooling, hadn't so much as lost a grandparent. The thought of trying to relate to a real human being in a Doctor/Patient relationship was.....silly, when I sat back and thought about it. My interest in medicine came from a genuine interest in science, a desire to help others, but also a desire for the prestige of the title, and an overt influence by medical TV shows. Quite frankly most young applicants are very dishonest with themselves about the influence of the latter elements.... in my humble opinion. But I digress.

So, I became a Police Officer, working in a corrections setting regularly with the mentally ill (which I believe reignited an interest in medicine, at a slow simmer, in the back of my head). I cycled out to Patrol and was exposed to an absolute deluge of those revered "life experiences"...... many of which I could have gone a lifetime without having to see.

This year my wife and I had a baby, unfortunately she was born with Stage 4 bilateral hydronephrosis. She is now on peritoneal dialysis administered at home by yours truly. This will continue until she gets a kidney transplant, hopefully before age two.